Appointment of Independent Non-Executive Director and Changes to the Composition of the Board Committees

The Board of Directors of ("Board") Hong Leong Asia Ltd. ("HLA" or the "Company") is pleased to announce the following:

(1) Appointment of Mr Ng Sey Ming as an independent Non-Executive Director of the Company with effect from 8 May 2017

Mr Ng Sey Ming is currently a partner in the Banking & Finance Practice Group in Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP ("R&T"). He commenced his legal practice in R&T in 2000 and became a partner in 2007. His main areas of practice are banking, project finance, debt capital markets, securities regulations and debt restructurings. He has also advised on cross border transactions, joint ventures, investments, restructurings, mergers and acquisitions, listings on Singapore Exchange and shareholders' disputes.

Mr Ng was admitted as an Advocate and Solicitor of the Supreme Court in Singapore in 2000, and a Solicitor of England and Wales and an Advocate and Solicitor of the High Court of Malaya, in 2007. He holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) degree from the National University of Singapore.

The Nominating Committee and the Board have considered Mr Ng to be independent.

The Board wishes to extend its warm welcome to Mr Ng as its newest member.

Further details of Mr Ng's appointment which are required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 704(7) of the Listing Manual of Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited ("SGX-ST") are set out in a separate announcement for release to SGX-ST today.

(2) Changes to the Composition of the Board Committees

The Board has approved the following appointments which shall take effect on 8 May 2017:

- i. Mr Kwek Leng Peck as a member of the Nominating Committee ("NC"); and
- ii. Mr Ng Sey Ming as a member of the Audit Committee ("AC"), Remuneration Committee ("RC") and Hong Leong Asia Share Option Scheme 2000 Committee ("SOSC").

Following the above changes, the AC, NC, RC and SOSC shall comprise the following members, with effect from 8 May 2017:

Audit Committee

Mr Tan Huay Lim (Chairman) - Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr Ernest Colin Lee - Lead Independent Director

Ms Kwong Ka Lo @ Caroline Kwong - Independent Non-Executive Director Mr Ng Sey Ming - Independent Non-Executive Director

Nominating Committee

Mr Ernest Colin Lee (Chairman)

- Lead Independent Director

Mr Tan Huay Lim

- Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Kwek Leng Peck

- Executive Chairman/Director

Remuneration Committee

Mr Ernest Colin Lee (Chairman)

- Lead Independent Director

Ms Kwong Ka Lo @ Caroline Kwong - Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Ng Sey Ming

- Independent Non-Executive Director

Hong Leong Asia Share Option Scheme 2000 Committee

Mr Ernest Colin Lee (Chairman)

- Lead Independent Director

Mr Kwek Leng Peck

- Executive Chairman/Director

Ms Kwong Ka Lo @ Caroline Kwong - Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Ng Sey Ming

- Independent Non-Executive Director

By Order of the Board HONG LEONG ASIA LTD.

Ng Siew Ping, Jaslin Yeo Swee Gim, Joanne **Company Secretaries**

8 May 2017 Singapore