

31 August 2016

APPOINTMENT OF DR RAJ THAMPURAN AS DIRECTOR

The Board of SIA Engineering Company Limited is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Raj Thampuran as an independent non-executive Director with effect from 1 September 2016.

Dr Thampuran, 52, is currently the Managing Director and a Board Director of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research ("A*STAR"). He is also the Chairman of the Board of Exploit Technologies Pte Ltd.

Dr Thampuran joined A*STAR in 2000 as Head of the Technology Planning Unit, and has held various executive positions in the Electronics, Engineering and Chemicals clusters, the Institute of High Performance Computing, and in planning and policy. In these positions and capacities, Dr Thampuran was involved in planning and establishing the framework for Research Councils; helped to plan, manage and support the capability development efforts of public sector performers in areas identified for technological growth; developed initiatives and various schemes to support R&D involving the universities and other institutions of higher learning; spearheaded the R&D portfolio and industry development efforts under the Institute of High Performance Computing; and interacted with policy makers and Ministry officials to establish A*STAR's contributions to the National R&D Framework, amongst others. He was appointed as Deputy Executive Director of the Science and Engineering Research Council (SERC) in April 2010 and Executive Director in October 2010, and as Managing Director of A*STAR in July 2012.

Dr Thampuran has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and a PhD in Materials Science. He did his postdoctoral work in modelling and simulation, and attended the Advanced Management Programme in INSEAD (Fontainebleau). He has been appointed as an Adjunct Professor by the Nanyang Technological University (Singapore) since April 2013, and as an Adjunct Professor in the Dean's Office, Faculty of Engineering at the National University of Singapore since December 2013.

Dr Thampuran is a recipient of the National Academic Excellence Award (SINDA) in 1997, the Public Administration Medal (Bronze) in 2007, the Public Administration Medal (Silver) in 2016 and the ASEAN Meritorious Service Award in 2014.